Hummingbird 525

Pony

Rear Admiral
I just bought the Hummingbird 525 from the local Cablas store. Has anyone used one, or had good expiriences with it? I bought it figuring it is a pretty baseline model without the bells and whistles that are useless to me. Does anyone have the speed attachment?, and does anyone think the $35 for it would be worth it?

I have never used Hummingbird before, my previous locator was an Eagle......it lasted about 10 years before -20F temps cracked the screen this winter.

Hummingbird 525

Nighthawk

Seaman Apprentice
Re: Hummingbird 525

I have used the humminbird 525 and 535 models and honestly they are great fishfinders . In my humble opinion they are much better than any other brand for the price range.
As for the speed sensor I have never used one so I cant give you any advice there . I always use a handheld gps unit to get my speeds and to check the accuracy of the speedometer.

Gary H NC

Fleet Admiral

I have the 535 in my Starcraft and i am buying a 565 for my ChrisCraft.Everything i have been reading on the speed option says it is very accurate.The 535 has been great.It was in the boat when i bought it,at first i figured it was a cheap unit until i started using it,now i love it!

Pony

Rear Admiral

That sounds very promising Gary. I hope I have the same expirience.

johnson1989

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I have the same model as you just got. Just put it on my boat this winter. I have had it out about 5 times and for the price I dont think you can beat it. Nice Display and it has a lot of nice features. I didnt get the speedometer wheel but I have some friends that have them and they work pretty good.

trouttamer

Cadet

good morning pony,