80 Johnson Super Seahorse - No Throttle

smrshl

Recruit
I just bought a used boat. It's a 1974 Larson Shark with a 80 HP Johnson Super Seahorse (1967 I think).

I got it to the lake, and started it up and let it idle. It will shift into both forward and reverse, but once there I don't have any throttle at all. I can put the shifter all the way to the floor both ways and nothing. The motor will eventually die because it's not getting enough fuel.

I'm a complete newbie when it comes to outboard motors. I did follow the cables back and it appears that everything is electronic. There are 2 cables and 1 bundle of wires coming from my control box. One cable goes to the shifter side, the other goes to the "Warm Up Lever" that advances the timing.

If anyone has any suggestions I would greatly appreciate it. I have a Seloc manual but it doesn't say anything about a throttle.

Thanks in advance!

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: 80 Johnson Super Seahorse - No Throttle

Hi, SM
Can you post the model number of your motor and a description of the remote control? What I've read so far doesn't seem to go together with a 1967. Maybe we can give some more intellegent answers if we know what we are dealing with.

Of course, the first thought is does the throttle/spark advance on the motor move when you move the remote control handle?

smrshl

Recruit

I don't know what model it is, there is no identification plate on it anywhere. The control box just has two cables coming out of it, one cable goes to the side where it shifts it into forward or reverse, the other cable goes to the side where the spark advance thing is. Both of these cables work fine. There is also a bundle of wires that go back to the motor.

F_R

Supreme Mariner