1962 28h johnson info

bouttime007

Chief Petty Officer
hello all, Id like some info on how(if any) I could get some mph out of a1962 28h johnson. First I should add that its compression was 80-85. low I know but I think the alum prop is not kosher. Its dinged up and looks in need of replacing. I cant seem to find a pitch # on it either maybe its behind the plastic cap? My question is if I could gain 5-10 mph by going up on pitch or is my comp. too low to gain much? It starts ok but doesnt seem to be revving a lot. No tach so its hard to tell. The motors on a 1983? 15ft sea nymph open bow alum. 19mph is kinda slow to get to the other side of the lake, but its still better than nothing. I would like to have it returned to (like new) someday as it is a great motor, but just not this year if I can get one more summer out of it. Im kinda new to this so any help would be great. thanx. bouttime007

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: 1962 28h johnson info

You wouldn't get another 10mph out of that 28 if it were brand new.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Howdy, bouttime.

Welcome to iboats. :)

Your engine is definitely not performing up to snuff. A 9.9 should be able to move your boat that fast.

Are both cylinders making power? Pull each spark plug wire when she is at idle and in neutral. If rpm don't drop that cylinder is not making power. You should be able to get a 7/16" arc to the block from both plug wires.

Is the timing right? Do a "link 'n' synch" by the manual.

Is she carboned up? Do a decarboning by the instructions in the Engine FAQs.

Correct fuel mix? 24:1, 1 qt. TC-W3 oil per 6 gallons 87 octane unleaded.

Correct spark plugs? Champion J4C gapped at .030"

Correct point gap? .020"

Correct prop? Get or borrow a tachometer and find out what your WOT rpm is under load. Select a prop to get about 4500rpm.

My guess is that you are lacking spark to one cylinder and may also have some carbon to get rid of.