85hp Ok I give up.....................................

84force

Seaman Apprentice
The plot thickens.....I have been battling a performance problem with this engine for 3 years now. I thought I had found the problem last week when I removed the cylinder head and had it checked only to find it was warped. I was real excited to try it out today after getting the head back on. Much to my surprise the engine performs just as it did before. No change, same old thing, only 3400rpm, only 28mph. I am ready to give up. Am I getting all the performance that I am going to get out of this engine? Should I be happy with what I've got? I still think there should be more. What do you guys think? The only thing I have not reset is the timing. The engine idles fine, performs ok except for lack of rpm & mph. Do you guys think timing could be off far enough to cause these problems I am dealing with and still idle and perform this way. Should I to settle for what I've got? Help..............

MWBROWN

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: 85hp Ok I give up.....................................

Have you checked to make sure you throtle is moving/opening the carbs all the way. You can check that with the engine off. Move the control all the way forward and the throtle plates should be almost, if not, horizontal.
I had to make a small adjustment on mine. There is an adjustment on the drivers side of the engine that is pretty easy to figure out.
That could explain why you had the same rpm with different props.

Have you gotten a manual yet?

Another thing are the plugs. Are they the correct ones. Frank A. helped a guy the other day that had the wrong plugs.

Last, but not least, follow Frank A's tips on the timming.

I hope this helps you.

Mike

Kajun37

Petty Officer 1st Class

what size boat do you have it on? correct prop? compression? is your boats foam waterlogged?

roscoe

Supreme Mariner

checked compression ?
load (weight)
prop size
have you verified the tach is accurate?