78 Johnson 70hp not charging?

ogishere

Cadet
I dont think my engine is recharging the battery. The Tach quit working , I dont have a reading on the tach signal wire at all. The battery reads 12v with motor running. How do I test the charging system? What would be bad? I have another motor just like it so parts is not a problem.

Thanks in Advance
ogishere

R.Johnson

Rear Admiral
Re: 78 Johnson 70hp not charging?

More than likely it is the rectifier, but when you change it, check the battery connections. If it has wing nuts', replace with brass, or stainles steel nuts'.

ogishere

Cadet

Where is the rectifier located and what does it look like? Im kinda new to boat motors. Already use stainless steel on battery. Is this hard to change?

Thanks
ogishere

ezeke

Supreme Mariner

Your rectifier should be cylindrical, with a triangular base. It would have 3 or four wires connected to the terminal block near the flywheel. One of the other wires at the terminal block is/should be gray. The gray wire is the pulse wire that sends the signal to the tachometer.

If you go to the BRP parts catalogs and look up your motor, you can then open the "ignition" diagram and see the components:

http://epc.brp.com/default.aspx?brands=ej&lang=e

You might want to read this thread, where Joe Reeves describes how to test the rectifier. It is near the end of the thread:

http://forums.iboats.com/bbBoard.cgi?a=viewthread;fid=28;gtid=1290805

ogishere

Cadet

ezeke said:
Your rectifier should be cylindrical, with a triangular base. It would have 3 or four wires connected to the terminal block near the flywheel. One of the other wires at the terminal block is/should be gray. The gray wire is the pulse wire that sends the signal to the tachometer.

If you go to the BRP parts catalogs and look up your motor, you can then open the "ignition" diagram and see the components:

http://epc.brp.com/default.aspx?brands=ej&lang=e