How to get wax off??

tmh

Lieutenant Junior Grade
Well, for now i am giving up on making my gelcoat in the back look real good. I have wet-sanded, compounded, waxed. NOW, I need to take a step back and get the wax OFF so I can put my lettering (boat name) on there!

So.... how do I prep the surface for self-adhesive lettering? I assume clean and wax-free is what i want, but I've never done it before. They are vinyl type letteres with front and back peel-off strips i think.

Thanks as always.

Coors

Captain
Re: How to get wax off??

An automotive paint store will have a good cleaner.

tmh

Lieutenant Junior Grade

Acetone...thanks. I have that. YES!!!! and easy boat job....finally.

Solittle

Fleet Admiral

Make sure that you use a clean cloth and change it frequently else you will be moving the wax from one place to another.

Yacht Dr.

Vice Admiral

Tail_Gunner said:
Acetone one or two wipes and she's gone, :devil:

Depending on the wax..that is not correct.

Interlux makes a Wax stripper.

b4 you take the backing off your name I suggest you get the whole thing up there ( With backing still on..1. tape it to possision. 2. mark with pencil some "locators" on your graphic and hull. 3. spray some windex all over the area b4 you peel your backing 4. peal and lay on with your "locator" marks 5. take a plastic spreader with a paper towel wrapped on the blade and sqeegie the thing well. 6. remove backing carfully and sqeegie any left over bubbles out ) :)

YD.

Aquaman

Petty Officer 3rd Class

tmh said:
I need to take a step back and get the wax OFF so I can put my lettering (boat name) on there!

PPG/Ditzler DX-330 or DX-440.

Tail_Gunner

Admiral

Yacht said:
Tail_Gunner said:
Acetone one or two wipes and she's gone, :devil:

Depending on the wax..that is not correct.

Interlux makes a Wax stripper.