Bravo 3 steering slop

Mischief Managed

Lieutenant Commander
I did some searching here at it seems that most of the time the slop is caused by a worn gimbal ring. Is it possible to look up at the bottom of the swivel shaft (drive removed) and see if the glimbal ring and swivel shaft have slop? Reason I ask is that I can detect no slop at all between those two parts, they move together like one solid piece, yet I have a few degrees of steering slop between the steering lever and the gimbal ring. Could my problem be as simple as a loose steering lever pinch bolt? I'd hate to pull the engine and remove the transom assembly only to discover I had the perfect candidate for drilling and plugging...

Last edited:

Mischief Managed

Lieutenant Commander
Re: Bravo 3 steering slop

Want to add, I have approximately 2.8 degrees of slop. It's enough to be aggravating when using trim tabs to keep the bow down in rough water. The boat will not remain level and tends to list to one side or the other as the drive flops from one side to the other with the tabs down. If I adjust the tabs to level the boat, it remains level for a second or two and the flops to the other side. Otherwise, the slop is not much of an issue.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

The gimbal bearing has nothing to do with the steering, that is what the driveshaft of the drive goes thru into the engine coupler.
There is a bushing in the upper part of the transom shield the the steering shaft attached to the GIMBAL RING and there is a ubolt that clamps the gimbal ring to the shaft. If there is slop there, that is a problem.
If that is tight, then that slop is just normal. They are not solid like car wheels. There is slop in the cable, and PS parts when you just move the drive by hand from the back of the boat.

tommays

Admiral

The best thing you can do is measure the play with the wheel tied off and measure it in inches

There is slop when there brand new

Tommays

Mischief Managed

Lieutenant Commander