Thumping Noise upon Starting Merc 140HP

Staush

Cadet
I'm new at this so I need advice. When I first start the engine it makes a thumping noise 5 or 6 times like the motor is vibrating against the hull. Is this normal or maybe a loose motor mount? Its a 1975 model and I have not idea if they were ever changed.

paulie0735

Chief Petty Officer
Re: Thumping Noise upon Starting Merc 140HP

Is this a new boat for you, has this just started to happen? Was it ok previously? Does the noise go away after the "5 or 6 times"? Can you feel the knock in the hull itself or just hear it? If you shut down and restart does it knock again? Or is this just when it’s cold? Lots of questions and lots of answers needed to narrow this down a little.

Staush

Cadet

This boat is new to me. The noise only lasts a minute and then stops. I can't feel it through the floor and I haven't had a chance to have someone else start the motor while I tried to pinpoint the location.

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Without actually hearing what you are hearing, it's going to be very difficult to diagnose. It may be water in the cylinders and causing a partial hydrolock. This can also completely stop the cranking of the engine, or make it stop and then start cranking again, but with a noise.
Might want to pull the plugs and check for water in any of the cylinders.

DHPMARINE

Captain

Just an odd thought since the boat is new to you.Is the drive down when you start it? It should be.

DHP

Speakrdude

Ensign

I had a similar problem only when the boat was in nuetral. Turned out to be a dead cylinder due to a bent (warped) valve causing a no-compression problem in that cylinder.

Yours could be a simple misfire, bad plug, plug wire, injector, etc...

paulie0735

Chief Petty Officer