TROLLING WITH AN IO V6

ANGELO

Recruit
Hello All,
I am new to boat ownership, I have a reinell/beachcraft bowrider with a V6 OMC I/O. I am a fisherman at heart but the price was right for this boat. I do love to fish the local lakes, and in hot weather I need to troll for trout ,salmon and land locked steel head. I need to know how to accomplish this. Please help!!!:%:=

Dunaruna

Admiral
Re: TROLLING WITH AN IO V6

[colour=blue]Hi Angelo, welcome to iboats!!

Trolling with an i/o is smoother and quieter than an eggbeater (outboard).

You do it the same as if you had an outboard. Personally, I carry three props - one for deep trolling trout, one for shallow barramundi and one for salt trolling (mackeral etc).

Silver/Fish

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Welcome to iboats Angelo!

We troll for salmon and steelhead with an i/o V8 with no problems. (I found a very nice boat at a good price also)

I do use "drift socks" at times to control the speed...Good luck...

Silver/Fish

Petty Officer 2nd Class

I forgot to add that some of the other trollers here have installed a trolling plate to their motors to control their speed...You might want to check out the parts dept. here at iboats...

Barlow

Lieutenant Commander

ANGELO said:
Hello All,
I am new to boat ownership, I have a reinell/beachcraft bowrider with a V6 OMC I/O. I am a fisherman at heart but the price was right for this boat. I do love to fish the local lakes, and in hot weather I need to troll for trout ,salmon and land locked steel head. I need to know how to accomplish this. Please help!!!:%:=

what specifically do you need ideas on?
trolling baits?
rods and reels?
Lines?
Boat set-up? - placement of rod holders etc. ..
Trolling speeds?
Drinking beer while driving the boat? ... .)

:)

zuke1

Petty Officer 2nd Class

cant go wrong with a trolling plate, the only that sucks about em is the mpg...