'85 Nisson 15 HP

StmGod

Cadet
I have a 1985 15 HP Nisson long shaft and would like to make it into a short shaft, I think. The reason I think it should be a short shaft is when I run the boat with only myself in it, the bow lifts up too high. In fact I have trouble seeing because the bow is so high. Where can I get information about converting the long shaft to a short shaft. I think that the water pump (impeller) should also be changed and imagine that it would be included in the conversion kit. Also I have a problem with the carburator or fuel pump. The motor starts and runs great at low speed or high speed but won't run at intermediate speeds. The carburator was made by TK carburator Co. Ltd. I bought the motor used and I'm just getting into boating. I can't find anyone in the area that deals with Nisson outboards, I'm in the Naples/Ft. Myers, FL area. Thanks for any help on this.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: '85 Nisson 15 HP

Do you know it is a long shaft or do you suspect it is?
Where is the anti ventilation plate in relation to the bottom of the boat.How tall is the transom on the boat?
I think The best place to find out about shortening it
would be the dealer.I think NIsson and Tohatsu are the same. If you don't have a dealer close by you may want to think about the parts supply.NAPA marine products catalog lists one page of parts.Iboats is similar.
Even Chrysler which hasen't been Chrysler since 84 has several pages of parts in the catalog.Evinrude/Johnson has 60 pages and covers motors back to the early 50s.

steelespike

Supreme Mariner

Just realized there is a Nisson forum right here.You may get more help there.

StmGod

Cadet

steelespike said:

Your right Spike, I saw it just after I posted here.

StmGod

Cadet

StmGod said:
steelespike said:

Your right Spike, I saw it just after I posted here.