Mercruiser 470 thermostat location??

mudpuppy86

Cadet
I know I need a manual but I was wondering were the thermostat is located. I replaced the water pump and the motor still overheats when I crank it up. Antifreeze comes out the radiator cap but the temp gauge reads 145. I am new to the I/O boats. Any response whould be greatly appreciated.
Thanx,
George

Don S

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Mercruiser 470 thermostat location??

"Which" water pump did you replace? The raw water pump in the drive, or the engine circulating pump (aka "Water pump" in the auto industry)

The thermostat (item 21) is between the coolant reservoir (item 23) and the thermostat housing (item 15)

470%20Tstat%20hsg..png

Don S

when I crank it up. Antifreeze comes out the radiator cap but the temp gauge reads 145.

It could also be that you don't have an overheat problem, but a blown head gasket or cracked head or block causing the combustion pressure to go into the cooling system and blowing the antifreeze out.
NAPA carries a kit for checking for exhaust in the cooling system. Might be worth checking before spending a lot of time looking for an overheat problem.

mudpuppy86

Cadet

Outstanding, thanx for the advice on the head gasket idea, would not have thought of that. I replaced the water pump in the lower unit.
Thanx,
George

mudpuppy86

Cadet

If I take the thermostat out to run it and see if that was the problem, would that work. I would do it just to see if that was the problem. And would the antifreeze comming out through the cap happen at low rpm also or only high rpm if it was the head gasket being bad?
Thanx,
George

Don S

You could try it for a quick "Off the water" test, but with the thermostat out, the front of the engine stays cold and the back gets hot because of the antifreeze circulating too fast. If you are going to all the problems to open it up, you need a new gasket anyway. Put in a new thermostat and check it.