Bow trolling motor on a transom mount

JenkHouse

Recruit
I am a newbie to this site and have come here after utter frustration with minn kota, motor guide, and west marine. I have a Lund WC-12 aluminum boat and I am in the process of adapting the front of my boat to my fishing needs. I am building a box which lies from a small bracketed piece of wood in the bow to the edge of the front bench. I am installing seats, one in front attached to the bench with a clip and another in the back directly bolted to the bench. Now here comes my stumbling block and challenge to all of you who read this.

I want to put a trolling motor on the bow of the boat. Of course that is easy right? Well no. This boat is primarily for fishing as that is what I live for amongst breathing and eating. I hate taking my hand off of my rod for any reason while I am on the water. So what I want to do is get one of the bow mounted motors with a foot pedal attached to a transom mount. I have spend countless hours of the last 5 days searching for some sort of bracket or mount that will allow me to attach a bow mounted motor to a transom mount allowing me hands free fishing. After reading several of the posts in this section I know that there is a way to mount a bow trolling motor directly to the aluminum panel. The problem is that is another 50 or 60 lbs added to the bow of my boat and I am not even sure if the aluminum will withstand the stress of having a mounted trolling motor on it.

On the other hand I have had a transom mount on the bow of my boat so I know it will work, I just want to enjoy the hands free features of a bow mounted motor….

Suggestions? Hints, links, help????

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Bow trolling motor on a transom mount

I think you have an exaggerated idea of the weight of Minn Kota's smaller bow mount motors. Even the monster Genesis only weighed 60lb. An MK565 weighs less than 30.