Armature plate tight

gcheris

Cadet
I'm new to boat engines, been working on cars all my life. I bought a 1961 uniflite runabout with a 1956 30hp johnson (and 4 other similar engines in various stages of repair). It wasn't running right so I checked the points and found one had a hold down screw hole that was stripped. So....I replaced the armature plate - that was interesting. I cleaned everything along the way and regreased the plate bearing collar etc. When I put it together I found I couldn't rotate the plate unless the four attaching screws were very loose which does not seem to be correct. Any ideas?

F_R

Supreme Mariner
Re: Armature plate tight

Once in awhile you will find a motor where somebody has deformed the brass retainer ring in an effort to tighten up a loose sloppy armature plate.

R.Johnson

Rear Admiral

Under the Armature plate, there is a brass retaining ring. Under this ring, there is a alumunum ring with one side beveled. This ring has to be installed with the bevel side facing down. If not, the armature will bind when you tighten the screw's.

gcheris

Cadet

Thanks to everybody for the suggestions. This site is invaluable!!!

While reading other posts I saw that there is sometimes a shim between the armature plate and the aluminum ring to take up space when the aluminum ring is worn. I forgot to add (above) that I had to replace the aluminum ring since it also had a striped hole. The replacement ring must have been less worn than the one I removed. When I took out the shim and put it back together everything worked fine with no wobble or play.