68" Merc 1000 timing/sync problems

alhersch

Cadet
I am new to boats motors. I have always workin my own truck motors so the mechanical ability is there, just don't have know how on boat motors. Here's the deal: bought a 68 starcraft w/ 68 100hp merc. Ran fine, till something slipped, im not up on all the parts name so i'll try my best to explain it. The plastic piece on top of the distributor, where the carb deal slides on. where it opens and closed the butterflies. Had a guy help us get it back in sync. Hasn't ran correctly since.... It would run fine on idle but as soon as it was put in gear it would die, turned up the fuel mixture and fixed that. I have gotten it to run WOT now, and can get it to idle fine in gear(a bit higher then I like to slam into gear) but when it's in gear it idles way... down, thats fine but then it will just putter out and die. Sometimes it won't start right away either, just noticed yesterday that the bulb doesn't stay hard then. The other problem is when speeding up, between low and high jet(seemingly) it stumbles around and sometimes dies. Ya have to be carefull how much you give it or it will either die or surge ahead. The last question is how much power should I expect outta this thing. It takes forever to get up to wide open which is about 30mph w/ 3 people on it. It did 37mph w/ 2 people on it before this all happened. I have read a lot on this forum and others and learned a ton, just can't seem to get quite perfected, and am puzzled at the seemingly lack of power after reading other peoples posts about the power.... I will hopefully be messing w/ it tonight agian, and probable every night I can... :'(

Thanks,

Alan

alhersch

Cadet
Re: 68