Which is the best downrigger?

sirjin

Seaman Apprentice
If I were to buy the best downrigger out there in the market for under $200, what is the best downrigger for your buck?<br /><br />I've looked at Penn, Cannon and Scotty. I don't know which to buy?

Fouled Plug

Ensign
Re: Which is the best downrigger?

If you were to take a stroll around the local harbors here in Ketchikan, you would notice the vast majority of boats (sport and charter) have Penns mounted. I have a Fathom Master that has served me very well for years. I tried a Cannon once on another boat, and found the drag/crank lever combo to be a bit awkward. Just my 2 cents.

Jerry M.

Seaman

Got my first one several months ago, and bought a Scotty. One reason I got it was that I liked the big take-up reel. Can retrieve real fast. I have a little difficulty with the clutch and reel handle being a two hand operation on the lowering. Takes some getting used to and trial and error for a smooth lowering with the rod and reel line. Used quite a bit on the Sound and so far it works well.<br /><br />Jerry

ratherbefishin

Petty Officer 1st Class

Scotty's are the downrigger of choice here, and they have an excellent reputation for replacing broken parts-which doesn't happen all that often, either.No problems with corrosion either- they are made for salt water.They come in both manual and electric- with electric taking over now.It's rare to see anything other than a Scotty out here

sirjin

Seaman Apprentice