Help for an Advertising student? Advertising approach questions

Hello, everyone. I am an advertising student from Oklahoma State University working on an ad campaign for MerCruiser. I posted a survey and would like to thank everyone who took the time to respond. Now we're kicking around creative ideas. I'm going to describe our several ideas for different formats for advertisments, and I would value any comments, feedback, criticism or suggestions you might have to offer. Your input is immensely helpful and greatly appreciated, by myself and my agency, Torque Advertising. <br /><br />Which ideas do you favor and why? Any other comments or suggestions? <br /><br />1. A "Mr. Goodwrench" type character to personify the expertise behind MerCruiser's Installation Quality Certification program. The ads would include a lot of information about the IQC program, and take an informational, more serious approach. <br /><br />2. "Improper assembly causes major problems"- We considered using the visual metaphor of a sandwich put together all wrong as the main image, to show that even the simplist things can be messed up by improper assembly. The text would relate this idea to proper engine installation and include a lot of information about the benefits of the IQC program to convey the idea that proper installation of MerCruiser engines eliminates problems. This ad format would use a more humorous approach. <br /><br />Thanks in advance for your time!<br /><br />Ashleigh Fiddler, ashleigh.fiddler@gmail.com<br />Torque Advertising

fireman57

Captain
Re: Help for an Advertising student? Advertising approach questions

Is it okay to reply to this one JB?

Nittany

Cadet

Hey Ashleigh:<br /><br />Nah -- Drape a Donzi girl around a stern drive.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus