Diving with booties

Admin5

Senior Chief Petty Officer
My wife just gave me some dive booties for Christams. They make sense for walking over rocks and coral to get to the "good places". I have never used them before with fins. Should I buy some bootie fins or should I return them and get my money back?<br /><br />Thanks for any advice.

mellowyellow

Vice Admiral
Re: Diving with booties

diving with booties?<br />have no idea, but the subject line sure got my<br />attention. think I'll ask my wife for some booties<br />next x-mas. wonder what she'll say??? LOL<br />too easy.....<br />happy new years A5 & thanks!<br />M.Y.

cpasseno03

Petty Officer 1st Class

I reccomend the open heel fins for boots, keep the boots! naturally they really help keep ya warm :) <br />Craig

Beaux

Petty Officer 1st Class

Admin5-<br />the title "diving w/booties" is a great way to get responses to your string! LOL :D But back to the point. The booties w/open heal and strap-on fins are a requirement for taking diving lessons down here on the coast of Mississippi. Not only will they keep your feet warm/protected from coral/hot sand when walking around, but they allow easier removal and slip on. They are much safer as well, not having to walk around in a boat bearfooted and then try the balancing act of trying to stand on one leg and put on a flipper while all that scube gear weight is strapped to your back. The best fins available down here ALL require the use of booties. I have some and use my booties for wade fishing and diving. I wouldn't go back to the old full foot slip on's for anything. Of course, I have found that a few extra diving "booties" around the boat can help make the trip a lot more fun as well (as long as you pay attention to quality)!!! ;) <br /> *** picture edited for sloopy's sake ;)

D

DJ