84-90 9.9 Force ignition issue

sparks4540

Seaman
I'm new to this outboard motor scene. Normally I work on cars and trucks. I bought this motor, which I was told was a 9.9, for my aluminum boat. The model number on the US Marine tag shows 152y9a and the serial is 1050. The lower cylinder had no spark. I soaked the carb and blew it out w/air and checked the float adjustment. I cleaned the points and replaced the dead cylinder plug wire,due to hole in wire, and installed new champion plugs. Excellent spark from both cylinders now. Checked continuity and resistance of both coils w/nearly same result on both. The engine still only fires on the top cylinder and the bottom plug stays wet w/fuel. I have swapped condensers and spark plugs from one cylinder to another w/ the same result. Compression check yields 116 psi top cyl. and 112 lower cyl. I pulled the head off and the gasket looks great and the cylinders have very minimal carbon build up. I should mention that it ran on both cylinders for nearly 30 min. in my test can 2 weeks ago and when I went to start it 3 days ago it was running on only the top cylinder again, but there still is great spark to both plugs. It doesn't appear there is any water leaking into the lower cylinder. Any help would be appreciated.

WillyBWright

Fleet Admiral
Re: 84-90 9.9 Force ignition issue

The coil that had that bad wire must be leaking. It probably had to work real hard and might have created a path with less resistance between the windings and laminations. It could fire a sparkplug out in the open, but compression increases resistance at the gap and the juice is probably finding it's way through that leak instead.

sparks4540

Seaman

Thanks Willy. I have heard some things about a reed valve. Any thoughts? I have ohmed out both coils and they are similar, but I will look into getting a replacement. I am pretty sure I found one at boatingsolutions.com for $48. Have you seen any cheaper? Thanks again.

WillyBWright

Fleet Admiral