1999 force 120hp

wraenking

Petty Officer 3rd Class
hey guys. i have been killing myself over my engine for the past year. what started out being a exhaust cover problem, turned into being getting water into one of the cylanders forcing me into deciding to sell my boat. i have never worked on a marine engine before, but i am no dummy. i bought my boat for 8000 2 years ago, and got one year out of it. its been sitting since last november. should i attempt to work on this? maybe take it apart and bring the parts to a machine shop to get rebored (get new piston, or fatter rings) and get the head shaven? <br /><br />i know a lot of you guys know your stuff and have a lot of faith in the force motors. i love the motor (when it was running) <br /><br />im not sure what happened, but i did find out the guy before me didnt have a overheating alarm hooked up, and i knew nothing about it until now.<br /><br />sorry to write so much, but i really need some advice.<br /><br />thanks guys

The Marine Doctor

Commander
Re: 1999 force 120hp

I have seen a run on 120hp forces taking water into the cyl's, with apperently good gaskets. I am looking into this problem to find out what is going on.<br /><br />As for your engine..its one of the good ones.<br /><br />TMD

wraenking

Petty Officer 3rd Class

so should i start this project and maybe take pics i could post for advice form you guys? i would really like to try this myself. i would miss (as i am now) striper fishing with my older brother too much if i got rid of this boat. :)

seldont

Petty Officer 2nd Class