Fuel diaphram question

tteal

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Hi folks. Yes it's me with yet another question sorry :)<br /><br />Since I'm replacing a lot of stuff on my old Force, I figured that the next thing on my list would be a new fuel diphram. <br /><br />What I'm wondering is and please don't laugh at me (I'm still new to the outboards), where exactly is the fuel diaphram located and how much are they? Is this just a few minutes to replace or ?<br /><br />Thank you,<br /> Tim

roscoe

Supreme Mariner
Re: Fuel diaphram question

Follow your fuel line into the engine. Pump should be on the end of the line. It is usually about 2.5" square, about 1.5" thick. Theree are a couple sheets of vinyl and a few little plastic pieces and springs to replace. Takes 30-45 minutes, most of which is reading the directions. About $10-13 for a fuel pump kit, that includes all parts and instructions.

tteal

Petty Officer 2nd Class

roscoe,<br /> Thanks for coming to the rescue. I appreciate all the kind advice and technical guidance here. If it weren't for folks like you, the newbies like me would be truly lost :) THANKS!!!!!

roscoe

Supreme Mariner

You're welcome.<br /><br />I was a newbie with 35 years of boating experience. I ran little motors for years, added gas, pulled the rope, and changed the lower unit oil once a year. Then 5 years ago I got a bigger boat and thought I should take care of it. I remember stumbling thru all this stuff myself.<br /><br />You seem to be doing it right, going thru the engine, checking it out, replacing the little stuff that can cause problems, etc. So you spend a few $, you know it is right, and you get to learn how to check it out and fix it, before it becomes an emergency.<br /><br />Happy boating.

tteal

Petty Officer 2nd Class