85 Yamaha overheating

Karl Sheasby

Recruit
I have a 85 Yamaha that is overheating. The engine was built in 1991. The ports in the engine are clogged with salt etc. like cement. The engine only overheats in the middle of summer. I changed the water pump and thermostats at the end of last summer. No problems last winter. The water is now near 90 degrees and the engine is over heating again. If I run at 4000 rpms the engine will not over heat. I cruise at 4800 rpms and never above. I don't want to remove the covers and break bolts. Can I remove the thermostats in the summer and replace when winter comes.<br /><br />Regards

Karl Sheasby

Recruit
Re: 85 Yamaha overheating

I was hoping someone could comment on the above. The motor is a 91 model and has never seen a shop. I don't want to unbolt any covers and break bolts. Is it OK to run without a thermostat?<br /><br />Any help would be appreciated.

bernieb

Petty Officer 1st Class

Since i'm not a pro ,you can consider this .....It sounds to me your engine can get you into a jam coming soon ,and considering the heat on the water,,,,,wow. Do a search on "popit valve" and the cleaning of it,as it may be partially stuck open.I'm not sure on the thermostats being left out,so hopefully someone else will reply.If your determined to keep the engine, find out the cause of the overheat,but from what you said so far, the cooling passage ways are clogging.

Karl Sheasby

Recruit

Thanks for responding. Where is the Popit valve located? There is a spring loaded valve under the thermostat that looks like it lets more water into the system at high speeds. Is this what you are talking about?<br /><br />Also, my 85 Yamaha is a 91 model and has never been in the shop. Not once. I fish 2-3 times month in salt water. The summer water being almost 90 degrees is when it happens.

zeman

Recruit