115 Yamaha 4 Stroke won't start

ps21

Cadet
Hello All.<br />I am new to boat ownership. I live in MA and bought a boat in FLA. Had it shipped up and it ran great the first couple of times out. Now I am having major difficulty getting it started. It's a 2004 115 Yamaha 4 stroke. It does not appear to be a fuel issue becuase once it starts it runs for hours without any issues. When I try to start it, it really seems like it wants to turn over but it cranks and cranks and never starts. I only have one battery for the boat. Do I need another battery or is there an electrical issue with this new engine?<br /><br />I should also mention I took this to an authorized Yamaha dealer. The put a booster pack on the battery (because it was very low from trying to start it) and it started on the first turn. Maybe this might help diagnose the problem?

WillyBWright

Fleet Admiral
Re: 115 Yamaha 4 Stroke won't start

Welcome to iboats. :) <br /><br />Don't give it any throttle when trying to start it. These motors usually start very easily. The most common problem I find is the customer giving the motor throttle before it starts. Don't.

ps21

Cadet

Actually I haven't been gving it any throttle at all. Maybe that's the problem?

bossee

Senior Chief Petty Officer