Twin Yamaha 200's $$ ??

josepr

Seaman Apprentice
I am new to boating so please be gentle.<br />I just got a hold of a Stamas 26.5 with twin Yamaha out boards (salt water series). They have less than 200 hours.<br />Is this allot of hours? How much are they worth ?<br />Is it hard to maintain them? I looked them over and the looked really clean. What should I look for in terms of problems. (leaks)

striper

Seaman
Re: Twin Yamaha 200's $$ ??

Howdy josepr, I have a newly rebuilt 93 200 hp and I've put 50 hours on her in the last week catching striper around the coast of Maine and goin out for cod 10 - 20 miles. Bein a new rebuild and breaking her in rite she's a heck of a dandy. I've been readin on the board mostly bout oils(if ya have a 2 stroke) and as long as ya run a good tc3w, watch, listen and treat em rite you'll do real fine. 200 hrs isn't a lot at all. There not cheap to replace no matter what year so yes they are expensive. As far as maintaining follow the owners book of knowledge. You have<br />a set of dandy's.(motors that is)

josepr

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks Stiper.<br />I don't have the manuels,but I guess I can pick up some info on them on the internet.<br />I got the boat Stamas 26.5, 1972 EXCELLENT SHAPE and the engines for only $12,000. Everyone says the the enigines alone are worth more than what I paid.

striper

Seaman

You got a heck of a deal. I just bought my boat, it's a 25' Wellcraft coastal for $10,000 with an I beam trailer. The guy I bought it from payed over 7 grand to have it totally overhauled from top to bottom.<br /> Enjoy

heribertorosas

Recruit