1980 Suzuki DT85 weak fire, won't start

dodger34

Cadet
I'm a Newby to outboards and I live in what must not be a hotbed of Suzuki service centers . I am an electrician but troubleshooting an outboard is another matter. I have troubleshot using a Clymer manual. It does not provide voltages for input vs output to the coils etc. so I'm working a little in the blind. Mail order support has been expensive and not very effective! I sent my CDI unit off for troubleshooting by a "trained" Suzuki dealer... a replacement was sent back but it did not solve the problem and He is so sure that mine was bad he would.t send mine back. (More info off the list if desired). To be fair, another service technician sent used replacement Mag coil and trigger coil. No better luck. I do apologize in advance for not perusing all of the back lists but this is obviously a thriving forum.. <br />Any Ideas?? <br />Dodger<br />If no answers to above question I'd be interested in info about GOOD service shops for Suzuki in the Eastern Kansas/Western Missouri areas.

cclemon

Petty Officer 3rd Class
Re: 1980 Suzuki DT85 weak fire, won't start

I know it is back to the basics, and you may have already done this, but how's the battery? If the battery is weak or the starter is dragging, the seconday voltage, (spark) will be weak. I suggest pulling all the spark plugs out of the engine. Then use one plug to test each plug wire. Connect a plug wire to the plug. Don't put it back in the engine, leave all plugs out. Tape, strap or hold the plug against any medal part of the head. turn the ignition to run, not start. Crank the eninge with a rope. What does your spark look like now? What do you plug wires look like. Some wires have caps that actually screw onto the wire. If yours are like this, you may want to unscrew the caps, clip 1/2 in off of the wire, and screw it back on. IF your plup wires have caps that are molded on, don't try to remove them.

dodger34

Cadet