Two Stage Reeds, are they worth it?

fin addict

Cadet
I've been thinking of changing my reeds to the two stage type. I have a 95 yamaha pro 150 that won't idle worth a ****. Any assistance would be graetly appriciated. :rolleyes: I see that Boyesen are manufacturing these two stage reeds and claim they help correct the coughing at idle.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: Two Stage Reeds, are they worth it?

Howdy, Addict. I've been messing about with 2 stroke engines for about 50 years, but I quit modifying them about 30 years ago.<br /><br />I've never heard of these "two stage" reeds. What are they supposed to do and how do they do it?<br /><br />Are you interested in curing a rough idle problem or in achieving some other goal? There are a lot of smooth idling Yammys around that don't have any after-market parts.<br /><br />Let us know.<br /><br />Red sky at night. . .<br />JB :)

Dhadley

Supreme Mariner

The Boyesen two stage reeds are very good but they do not, as JB mentioned, cure idle problems. In fact they encourage you to make sure your motor idles good to start with. The big advantage of the two stage reeds is at the higher RPM range. The "coughing" at idle that you refer to is due to a lean condition and is about the only thing that hurts the Boyesen reeds. <br /><br />Good luck!

its-a-sweater

Seaman

JB AND DH ARE RIGHT. ITS BEEN MY EXPERIENCE THAT THE YAMAHAS ARE ABOUT THE NICEST IDLING V6'S AROUND. IF IT WON'T IDLE RIGHT, THERES SOMETHING ELSE GOING ON.<br /><br />I WOULD SUSPECT LEAN ALSO. THE REEDS WON'T HELP WITH THE CONDITION YOURE LOOKING AT.

fin addict

Cadet

Thanks for all the replys, I didn't replace the gaskets when I cleaned the carbs. I'll go ahead and get the kits and replace all the gaskets and seals. Any body recommend a certain kit manufacture or stick with yamaha.<br />and I'll check the screw setting. i think it is 1 3/8 turn out.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus