Any Experts on Timing a 2 stroke out their?

cmyers_uk

Senior Chief Petty Officer
I have a 1998 Mercury 60HP 2 stroke 3 cylinder. It has been rebuilt by me and its my first time. I have replaced the stator in the same position that it came off and the trigger coil seems to only go one way. The fly wheel can only go on one way as well. The manual says timing at idle should be between 2o ATDC to 6o BTDC. If I set the timing to that the engine will not start. If I set the timing to 10o BTDC the engine starts. What should I do? Is it time to pay a shop to time it?. Any clues where I went wrong?<br /><br />Thanks

OperativeK

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Any Experts on Timing a 2 stroke out their?

I think you should clean your plugs run it for a couple minutes read the plug(hot or cold, etc.) then based on that make the necessary advance or change.<br /><br />If you are running too cold the plugs will be getting black and greasy, if your too hot they will be closer to a white.<br /><br />You don't want too hot.

Clams Canino

Commander

You need to set the timing as per the procedure in the manual (or have a shop time it). The above advice is likly to melt pistons if the net advance is too far ahead. In addition, if it has surface gap plugs, they are virtually unreadable.<br /><br /> What went wrong could be as simple as the timing pointer being a little off. But make sure the max advance is NEVER more than the specs.<br /><br />Also... one usually advances the throttle (timeing) to start a motor.. then reduce to idle when warm. Most of them need a few degrees advace to START.<br /><br />-W

cmyers_uk

Thanks guys. I was following the procedure in the manual. Not wanting to melt the pistons I will get a shop to do it.<br /><br />Regards<br /><br />Chris

cmyers_uk