'74 Merc 850, lower unit repair

Mercr

Seaman Apprentice
Hello. I'm new here. I've been searching through old posts, trying to find info on lower unit repair. <br /><br />I am buying a "fixer upper" - 15' Caravelle/'74* (*SN 3870380) 850 Merc - from a friend, who has given up on it after going through almost everything else. He ultimately discovered that the lower unit was damaged - & got an estimate of $900, for a rebuild, at the local marine shop.<br /><br />I've used the search function, using "85 HP", "850" and "Lower Unit", but have yet to find a relevant post. I'm an experienced auto mechanic, and think I can tackle this myself. I intend to disassemble the lower unit & determine what's "wrong". I'm trying to locate parts ( don't know exactly which, yet) and/or interchangeable lower units, and "how to" info on the actual process. <br /><br />I've found some bits & pieces, but would appreciate any links, or suggested search phrases, regarding my situation. <br /><br />From the looks of this site, I suspect the info is here. I'm just having a bit of trouble locating it!<br /><br />Thank you!<br /> <br />Merc

tashasdaddy

Honorary Moderator Emeritus
Re: '74 Merc 850, lower unit repair

manuals are available at oldmercs.com , you may find one on ebay. i did. 71' 1350

Laddies

Banned

If a online parts manual will help goto BAM Marine.com

Mercr

Seaman Apprentice