Changing oil in foot

fastwater

Seaman Apprentice
I have a merc 200,sn 7090383.I am in the process of changing oil in foot.<br />I have drained oil,is the small screw about 6 inch above drain the fill?<br />If it is,what's the easiest way to get oil in.<br />Having a hard time to get oil in.

Laddies

Banned
Re: Changing oil in foot

Alway fill a unit from the bottom screw to the top to prevent air lock, you will need a pump

Maloverde

Cadet

I am a newbie at this, but I didn't use a pump to get the foot oil in. I just squeezed the bottle until the oil came out the top hole. Is there a downside to that?

KCLOST

Commander

No, Maloverde,<br /><br />If it works that's the way to do it, straight out of the bottle using the tapered cap...

fastwater

Seaman Apprentice

Do you put it in the bottom hole until it comes out the small hole on top?<br />Am I supposed to fill it straight up & down, or do I put motor in certain position to do this?<br />I tried in the small hole on the top of the foot but very hard to get in.<br />It would take my whole boating season to get oil in foot this way.

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner