Mercury 1998 250 hp efi

aalleykkatt

Cadet
My 1998 merc 250XL EFI Is running so rich you can smell raw gas exiting the exhaust. I have replaced the map senser and adjusted the throttle positioning ind. But it has not done much good. I also fould plugs. I burn 26 Gal. an hour @ 4300 RPM. 2o mph. With my 25' cc C-Hawk. She will turn 5400 rpm WOT.. I cant seem to figure this one out. Can you help! A offshore trip running 80 miles round trip @ 4400 rpm 20 mph and trolling for 6 hours @ 1900 rpm 7 mph she burned 160 gal of liquid Gold. My friend burned 180 gal with twin merc 2000 model. same trip.. Something is Wrong!

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner
Re: Mercury 1998 250 hp efi

I'll admit I'm not an expert on this engine but I'd start with a check of the fuel pressure regulator. A bad regulator in any EFI engine allows unregulated fuel to be pumped into the engine. That or some really bad injectors are the only way excess fuel can get into the engine. There is always the possibility the ECM or sensor(s) are bad but I would not suspect them until the regulator is verified good or bad.

T_I_M

Petty Officer 3rd Class

One other thing is those engines still had a pulse driven fuel lift pump. If the diaphram is leaking on that it will put raw fuel right into the crankcase.

aalleykkatt

Cadet

K I checked the fuel pressure, its at 38lbs.. book calls for 34-36.. I would not think 2 lbs will cause the problem.. My gauge might be off a little too. No leak in the diaphram... I will check the injectors today. Thank you..

MercFan

Petty Officer 1st Class

Another sure way to check if you are indeed running rich is to get yourself a "color tune". Basically a glass spark plug. Any automotive spares retailer should stock it. It allows you to look inside the combustion chamber and observe the actual colour of combustion. Too light blue is too lean, and when it's orange it's too rich. There is a color chart with it.

aalleykkatt

Cadet