1981 BlackMAX v225 - No Spark

bigshrimpin

Seaman
Hey Guys . . . I'm fairly new to working on outboard engines, so don't make fun of me too badly for asking some dumb questions. <br /><br />Problem: <br /><br />No Spark (any of the plugs.)<br /><br />History:<br /><br />This engine sat for a few years, but compression is 125psi (+/- 2psi) in all 6 cylinders.<br /><br />Bought the service manual and the clymers guide.<br /><br />Trigger, Stator, and rectifier all test within spec (followed the service manual procedures).<br />Coils, Wires, + wires to switch boxes are all new.<br />and hooked up per wiring diagram.<br /><br />The wires at the base of the High Speed Spark advance module are cut and there is no idle stabilizer. <br /><br />Starter engages and spins the flywheel with no problem. <br /><br />-------------------------------------------------<br /><br />Questions: <br /><br />1. Do you need the high speed spark advance mod. or the idle stabilizer for the engine to run?<br /><br />2. If it's not the idle stabilizer or the High speed spark advance . . . then is there an easy way to test the switch boxes? wiring harness? or key switch?

prolinews

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: 1981 BlackMAX v225 - No Spark

Check the kill switch it should be the black and yellow. good luck

prolinews

Petty Officer 2nd Class

It should crank without idle stabilizer or the hi speed spark advance mod. the manual only gives the test for a running engine.

KCLOST

Commander

Does it crank?<br /><br />If so, it's not the kill switch...<br />If it does and no spark at all, and you're sure the stator, trigger is ok... I'd lean toward the switchboxes....<br />Did you Ohm out the stator and trigger leads?<br /><br />Let us know...

bigshrimpin

Seaman