mercruiser engine replacement

wheels4

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I just got a boat from a friend for free.The hull and interior are in great shape the outdrive was rebuilt 4yrs ago and was not used much.The engine was replaced at the same time 305 mercruiser.The exhaust manifolds rusted through and leaked water into two cylinders.I have to replace the engine and was wondering if this was something I should attempt my self?Im a great automotive mechanic and was looking at this job and it looks easy.Is it as easy as it looks?Or is there a book someone could reccomend?Thank You for any help you can provide. :confused: :confused:

D

DJ

Re: mercruiser engine replacement

You can do it. Just make sure ANY parts you use are marine. Many parts are specially sealed for marine use such as: alternators, starters, etc. They're not worried about water getting in them, they're worried about fuel fumes getting in them. I have seen a boat blow up-it was terrifying.<br /><br />The same goes for internal engine parts to some extent. Marine engines are built to have a very flat torque curve. This is usually done by valve timing. Remember, a marine engine does NOT EVER coast. It is under load at all times. You can rebuild the engine yourself, just make sure to set it up as a marine application.<br /><br />By your description, you'll have to replace the exhaust manifolds and elbows. This should run about $400.00 for manifolds and $300.00 for elbows. You want to make sure these are good or you will get to do everything over again. If you do not want to go OEM on these parts, that's OK. Osco makes good ones.<br /><br />The only special tools I can think you will need is an alignment tool to line up the engine with the driveshaft. <br /><br />This sounds like a great project-good luck and Happy Holidays!!

D

DJ