Add'l Newbie questions

tygh

Cadet
I am a complete newbie to boating. I bought an 11' RIB to use for diving and it had a 1991 9.9hp Mercury motor on it.<br /><br />The motor does not seem to be enough when the boat is fully loaded and I want to put a bigger motor on the boat. I had posted about a Honda motor earlier this week, but now I am just plain confused.<br /><br />My questions are:<br />-Boat is rated for 15hp motor. Is this really a power or weight restriction? I can find 20hp motors that weigh the same as most 15hp.<br /><br />-How much more power will I really gain with an add'l 5hp?<br /><br />-How does the engine displacement affect performance? If two motors are 15hp each and one has a greater displacement, is that good?<br /><br />-Since I am in CA, must have 4-stroke, so weight of engine is paramount. My old 9.9 weighs 77lbs. Some of the 15hp 4-strokes are 115 lbs. That seems like a lot of weight to add. What motor would you recommend????<br /><br />Is there FAQ available that would answer questions like these??? I appreciate everyone's input.

Drowned Rat

Captain
Re: Add'l Newbie questions