will trim tabs help my deckboat?

ildoc

Petty Officer 3rd Class
I'm a real newbie at boating, so pardon me if this is elementary. I have recently aquired a 21.5 ft deckboat with a Mercruiser 5.7L Alpha One. It runs great, but we have it on a relatively small lake and would like to be able to cruise at a slower speed without plowing. It seems that trim tabs are the only good solution, but will they work on my application and how hard are they to install and use? Will they interfere with my boatlift?

QC

Supreme Mariner
Re: will trim tabs help my deckboat?

Trim tabs IMHO will help almost any boat. I personally prefer adjustable tabs as I like to play with stuff, but many are going with SmartTabs.<br /><br />Read this entire thread and do some searches on the site. There is a LOT of tab info here.<br /><br /> http://www.iboats.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=1;t=012079 <br /><br />In the up position adjustable tabs will have no affect on your boat lift or trailer. Smart Tabs may cause some issues. I am absolutely positive NautiJohn will be around to comment on that ;) <br /><br />BTW, I got my 23 footer to plane at 13 MPH this last week.

AaronG

Petty Officer 1st Class

I have a very similar boat. 1997 Harris Kayot Deck boat with the same 5.7/Alpha 1.<br /><br />I was thinking the same thing. For my boat to plane, I need to be turning about 2300 rpms(about 20 mph). Any slower and it plows. This is compounded by every passenger wanting to sit in the back rather than up front. <br /><br />I've thought about trim tabs too. I'm sure they will make the boat behave better, but what keeps me from getting them is that its just one more thing to break. I just don't think its worth the money and aggrivation.

D

DJ