Merc 90 IL 6 Questions

WIrED

Cadet
Hi,and THX in advance if anyone can help me.. I recently bought a boat with the 90 in it...<br /><br />I cant seem to find a ser # anywhere, I looked where I have seen them before on Mers's (on the silver plate between the tighting bolts)Is there some where else it might be?<br />If there is no ser# what year approx. is the engine where the shroud is blue with black dots towards the front of the engine?<br /><br />Also what is a good RPM cruisin speed on that engine....it will max out at about 5,000...but thats prolly to much....so what would be a good average?<br /><br />And also what is a good fuel & oil mixture? 50 to 1?<br /><br />Thx again... Im new to boating.

ZmOz

Captain
Re: Merc 90 IL 6 Questions

That engine is from sometime in the 80's, I don't think the 90's came out until after 1983. I use about 40:1 or more oil in my inline 6. It was designed to use even more than 32:1, although todays oils are better. It should be getting to 6000 RPMs at WOT, if it isn't you need a different prop. If it's only getting 5k at WOT you will burn a piston. Don't be afraid to go to high RPMs, thats they way outboards are designed to operate. A good cruising speed is around 3000-4000 RPMs.

WIrED

Cadet

Thx for that info..but.. what is WOT?<br /><br />and..is there another place to find the ser #?<br /><br />THX again

ZmOz

Captain

WOT is Wide Open Throttle, "flooring it". I don't have any idea where the serial number would be...

WIrED

Cadet

Does anyone else have any idea....as to my original questions at the beginning of my post...<br /><br />THX

Bob Kimber

Petty Officer 3rd Class