Mixing deep cycle and standard batteries

paperdesk

Petty Officer 1st Class
I recently bought a Rienell boat with a 135hp outboard and duel batteries. The former owner told me the batteries were bad and needed to be replaced. After inspection I find that they are hooked up paralell and one is a deep cycle and one isn't! Even though I'm new at this it doesn't seem right to hook these two together!<br /><br />Any comments or suggestions? BTW, the batteries do seem to be weak even after Deep Cycle charging of the one and regular drip charge for the other. They always get me started, even though sometimes they have a bit of a hard time with the initial start. Is it bad to run weak batteries?<br /><br />Thank you guys. I'll set back and learn from the experts.<br /><br />Ted

paperdesk

Petty Officer 1st Class
Re: Mixing deep cycle and standard batteries

P.S. Is my Deep Cycle already toast because of this setup?

Drowned Rat

Captain

Hi Ted. It sounds from your post that you don't have your batteries hooked together anymore. Unless it is a dual purpose battery, your deep cycle should not be used for starting, and just because it turns your engine over slowly doesn't mean it's toast. Deep cycles have lower cranking amps than starting batteries do. It may still be fine for running electronics and trolling motors or whatever. I would try fully charging both batteries separately, make sure they're disconnected and then use them. Use the deep cycle only for electronics and use the starting battery for the engine. If the starting battery is turning the engine over slowly, it probably is toast. If you want to hook your batteries together, get two new dual purpose deep cycles. Batteries that are hooked together need to be the same type and same age. Hope this helps. :)

paperdesk

Petty Officer 1st Class