Leave motor in fresh water or take it out when finished?

Chipso

Seaman Apprentice
Hi:<br /><br />I'm new to boating and I have to ask what may seem to experienced boaters a dumb question. I have asked different boaters and no one seem to be sure of the answer.<br /><br />I have recently purchased a boat and it is docked at a fresh water lake full time. My question, do I raise the outboard engine when I'm finished boating to get it out of the water, or do I let it remain in the water for some unknown reason and wind up with that green scum all over the bottom of the motor? It's a new Yamaha, four stroke, 25 HP outboard. The back of the motor faces a southern exposure. Is there any reason to leave it in the water? Most of the small boats, here at the dock, leave the motors down in the water when not in use.<br /><br />Any constructive thoughts would be welcomed.<br /><br />Thanks

Solittle

Fleet Admiral
Re: Leave motor in fresh water or take it out when finished?

Chip - All I can tell you is what I would do and that is to leave it up. Why pickup a bunch of crud whan you don't have to? In salt water you can pickup barnacles on the inside of the lower unit if left down yet some folks do it - beyond me.

Chipso

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks for your imput SoLittle. Seems logical to me also, but just wanted to make sure there isn't something technical I may be missing here.

radsrh

Petty Officer 1st Class

I can tell you that I am in fresh water and I always lift the motor when I am finished for the day. The big benefit of this is that you do not end up with a bunch of green or brown slime on the lower unit.

Chipso

Seaman Apprentice

Thanks for you comments radsrh. My feelings exactly about the green and brown crud all over the bottom unit. Just makes sense to me, but just wanted to make sure I wasn't doing something wrong.

crazy charlie

Vice Admiral