Need some recommendations on pontoon boats

Ted_S

Cadet
Hello everybody,<br /><br />I'm a newbie here so please be gentle ;) <br /><br />I'm in the Minneapolis area and I am thinking about getting a pontoon boat. I know next to nothing about them so I'm looking for just some general advice.<br /><br />It will likely spend 50% of the season floating and 50% trailered at my home. I'll do a bit of fishing from it but will probably mostly just be a party barge.<br /><br />I don't harbor any ideas of water skiing but pulling a tube on occasion would be fun.<br /><br />I prefer to have a mostly open deck and have the folks sit in lawn chairs.<br /><br />Like everyone, cost is a big factor. I would like to keep it under $8,000 and a used boat and motor would be just fine.<br /><br />So with all that said, are there any brands to avoid, or brands to seek out? Features to have for certain? Things or dealers to avoid? I'm just looking for general information because I'm a real novice.<br /><br />Thanks,

NMplayer

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: Need some recommendations on pontoon boats

Personal preference for me would be all aluminum construction. You ought to look at the classifieds. Lot of Minn. boats in there. Been thinkin about a 'toon myself here lately

Silvertip

Supreme Mariner