1996 150 Evinrude will not stay running

hcrisp

Cadet
I have a 1996 150 Evinrude /Carberated. There was another post with what seemed to be the same problem but no follow-up with what fixed the problem. I can start the motor and it will run only if the key is held to the start position. As soon as I return it to the run/monitary position the motor shuts down. I have replaced the switch and the power pack. I have checked all the ground leads, plugs for burns or shorted wires and can not find anything wrong. I thought about the coil packs but the engine will run as long as I keep the starter running. jmarler posted his in january but I did not see if or what he did to fix the problem. I am new to the posts here but have seen a lot of sound advise to solve other problems and would be very greatful for any help.

angus63

Captain
Re: 1996 150 Evinrude will not stay running

Welcome Hawg!!<br />I believe you can disconnect the big red cannon main plug, jump out the solenoid to start the motor. If it runs ok, it's is the switch, wiring, or kill switch. If it doesn't run, post back cause we'll need more info. You'll need to choke out the carbs to stop the motor with the plug disconnected. let us know.<br />Good luck

hcrisp

Cadet

Hello angus63.<br />Thanks for the info. I did not think about taking power away and starting the motor the old fashin way. I guess I got all rapped up in the problem I forgot that the motor will run on its own power once you take away all the gagets. I will let you know tomorrow (Saturday,21,May)

hcrisp

Cadet

Hello all<br />Just a thought but could it be the stator assembly. Tried to start it today but does not seem to be fireing at all now. I am going to retrace my steps and check the plugs again for fire. Let me know what you think. Thanks Hawg.

farginicehole

Chief Petty Officer