Vacuum line replacement

gearheadinWI

Seaman Apprentice
Motor is a 73 18hp, now please bear with me on this description, I am fairly new to boat motors so I will likely not call things by the right names. There is a tiny nipple(1/16th inch) behind the top cylinder above the fuel pump looks like it goes into the crankcase the hose then runs up to near the carb, somewhere near where I believe the reed valves are and connects to a much larger nipple(close to 3/16th inch). I asume I need fuel rated line and something that will not colapse easily? I will try to get some when I get some other parts tomorrow but if that fails I have some silicon hose in a small diameter would that be a suitable replacement. The original is cracking but not leaking yet, since the motor is apart it is getting replaced at this time to aviod impending trouble.

Walker

Captain
Re: Vacuum line replacement

I can pretty much guarantee you that if the nipples are different sizes then a hose don't run between them. Do you have a manual? That will show the hoses and the routing.

rwcreigh1

Petty Officer 2nd Class

get a manuel it will make your life a lot easyier.

gearheadinWI

Seaman Apprentice

Look guys thank you for taking the time to reply but, sometimes there needs to be more of an answer than "buy the manual" I have the Seloc manual and I would call it the equivalant to the automotive Haynes, crap with a little useful info scattered around and poor pics. The best part of the whole thing is in the back with the tables of tuneup specs and torque values. I am mechanically inclined too so the problem isn't my ability. If you can find a diagram of the routing please tell me what page it is on, but I do not think you will find it.

Paul Moir

Admiral