removing lower unit

rwcreigh1

Petty Officer 2nd Class
hello,i am trying to remove the lower unit to replace the water pump.BUT the unit will not drop.it seems free at the back but at the front it looks like the stud is stuck.it wiggles but wont drop.i did what it says in the manual.i tried to put oil all over the stud to try free it.but 24 hours latter nothing.please help..1984 johnson 35 hp

rwcreigh1

Petty Officer 2nd Class
Re: removing lower unit

i am new to this.what it the trim tab?there is a extension to drop the unit about 8 inches(that the unit is bolted to.

rwcreigh1

Petty Officer 2nd Class

it seams like it might be the stud that is keeping it from moving.is there anything it could be???am i forgetting anything.would heat help?

Crappie_Fan

Petty Officer 2nd Class

You did remove the bolts in the shifting rod coupler that hold the shifter rods together right? I know from experience that you cant just loosen them, you have to take them out. Just a thought. <br /><br />Good Luck

rwcreigh1

Petty Officer 2nd Class

i removed screens and loosened the rods.and the nut slips un and down the shaft.i dont see how it would come out but i will go look to see if it can.

Walker

Captain

Richard, there's a plastic collar type thing that has to be removed where the shift rod couples.

rwcreigh1

Petty Officer 2nd Class

i dont see it.i put it in gear and it does raise the linkage up and it looks clear.the back of the unit wanks to drop but at the front it tight.i can get a screwdriver in the back but the front is so tight the blade wont fit.let me go look for the plastic collar.thanks please dont give up

rwcreigh1

Petty Officer 2nd Class