Performance mods on '67 Evinrude V4 60HP

Tinkerer

Senior Chief Petty Officer
This is probably pretty much a joke thread but I'm interested in whether there's much that can be done to get anything worthwhile out of it.<br /><br />I have no experience in performance mods on 2 strokes.<br /><br />I understand performance things on '60's - '70's 4 strokes like porting and polishing, and other stuff like extractors and carbies and boring and stroking etc.<br /><br />My gut feeling on my old V4 Evinrude is that I could spend a lot of money and a lot of time squeezing an extra few per cent out of it that might matter in competition but not in real life.<br /><br />I suspect that the same motor with an electronic ignition would beat anything I could get with things like porting etc.<br /><br />Anybody know?

R.Johnson

Rear Admiral
Re: Performance mods on '67 Evinrude V4 60HP

I think a real challenge on one of these old V-4's would be to see if you could get it to drink more fuel. They really had that nailed.

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner

hahahahahaha<br /> yep<br /> I skied behind one. 6 gallons to get away from the marina,6 gallons to make 3 or 4 laps and 6 gallons to get back. dang think drank almost as much as a buddy's 454 jet drive. :) but it was reliable anyway.

Laddies

Banned

Ck with Dhadley he can make them V/4s beat all of them I/6s---haha---Bob

OBJ

Supreme Mariner

Second engine I ever rebuilt was one of these old V4 monsters. Took it to Canada lotta times and always reliable. But loved gas. We carried two six gal gas tanks and a spare 5 gal can. My buddie had a 70 Johnny he bought new. We'd leave the shore, run about 8 miles to fish, putt around and come back to the landing. My buddies 70 might, just might use 3/4 tank while I'm on the better part of the second tank which was ready to go dry. But like rodbolt said....very reliable engine.

ledgefinder

Ensign