does tis seem right 90 johnson

energizedsbs

Recruit
i have a little 16 foot malibu.... its a really light boat.... i redid everything and got a rebuilt 93 90 hp johnson.... my ? is that it at 5600 rpm im only running 41 mph... my old johnson 70 hp went the same.. if need anymore info i'll post more.... thanks alot folks

steelespike

Supreme Mariner
Re: does tis seem right 90 johnson

Im no expert but would start with a compression check.Be certain it is running on all cylinders.Who rebuilt the motor.Check the vertical height. Anti vent plate should be about even with the bottom of the boat.Did you adjust the trim? What size prop are you running.What size on the 70 and what rpm did it run.Is your speed measured with a gps.<br /> Even though your power increase is around 30% your speed increase would most likely be less depending on the designed speed performance<br />caracteristics.By the way what is the max horsepower rating for the boat.

energizedsbs

Recruit

compression is all good.... its definitly running as good as it can....a johnson dealer rebuilt the motor....yes i ajusted the trim as far as it would go till i started losing speed....prop is a 13 3\8 dia and 17 pitch....gps yes...the max for the boat is a 90.... i just thought a little 16 ft with a 90 would be faster.... arent the 115 the same in weight... i should have just got one of those.... im looking for at least over 50mph...41 doesnt cut for me...lol thanks for the help<br /><br /><br />sam

G DANE

Commander