Please note this thread has been inactive for 90 days. For the best results, please start a new thread.
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    Cadet

Default Low Voltage At Fuel Pump

I'm restoring a Blackfin with a 454 Marine Power inboard. I have done all the routine maintenance for winterization and when I tried to start her up she would not start. I have traced the culprit to be the fuel pump (no gas to carb). It is an electric fuel pump that pumps great with 12 volts applied with a jumper from the battery. It is wired through an oil pressure switch that contains three wires.With the key in the ON position I have the following voltages at the oil pressure switch:Red/ yellow: 12.6 voltsYellow/ red: 0Red: 0With the key in the start position I have the following voltages:Red/ yellow: 10.5+ VoltsYellow/ Red: 10.6+ VoltsRed (at fuel pump): 3-4 VoltsMy gut tells me that the pressure switch is most likely the culprit, but I have limited experience with inboards. According to the Marine Power manual it says to first check for 12 volts at the fuel pump (which I do not have, I only have 4 volts at best with the key in the start position) and then check the pressure switch next. The level of oil on the dipstick is also within normal level.Where do I go from here? Will a faulty oil pressure switch cause these problems or do I have other problems?

Honorary Moderator Emeritus Don S's Avatar

Default Re: Low Voltage At Fuel Pump

It's either rusted and corroded terminals or a bad switch.
    Don S.

Please, no PM's (Private Messages) regarding boat/engine problems.
    That is what the forums are for.
    Only forum/moderator issues will be answered in PM's.