Please note this thread has been inactive for 90 days. For the best results, please start a new thread.

Unhappy Ignition problem - 1986 Mercruiser 170

Hi, and HELP! I just bought a 1986 20' Cuddy Cabin yesterday with a 170 Mercruiser. I brought it home and went to start it and just got a click. I tried again, and it seemed like I got a hum after the initial click, then nothing. On the third try, it started as soon as I hit the key. I ran it for about five minutes, shut it off and tried to start it again a few minutes later. Then (and several times since), all I get is that click, and a noticable 'bump' sound when I disengage the key. Sounds to me like when a starter is bad on a car and the click is the solenoid opening while the 'bump' is it closing, but I'm no mechanic. Some pertinient facts: 1) This is the original motor and it has right at 500 hours on it - the excellent overall condition of the boat convinces me this is accurate; 2) it has a brand new battery and cables, and is showing 11-12 volts on a meter and the dash; 3) new points and condenser were installed last week; 4) all other electrical is working fine; 5) I've tried to push the reset on the circuit breaker with no luck; 6) the in-dash fuse for the ignition switch is good. It seems that I am clearly getting juice back to the engine, but there is no cranking or anything else - just the click. I tried jumping the leads on the starter solenoid and on the slave solenoid, but the starter did not run in either case. I also checked the connections at bothe the battery and starter, and both are clean. I'm inclined to believe that I'm left with replacing the starter/solenoid unit, but would love to hear anyone's thoughts. It is just really frustrating that I had the boat home less than 15 minutes before it broke, but better my driveway than out on the water, eh? Any thoughts, suggestions or words of wisdom would be appreciated. Thanks!

Smile Re: Ignition problem - 1986 Mercruiser 170