Please note this thread has been inactive for 90 days. For the best results, please start a new thread.
    Seaman Apprentice

Default 2288 renken seamaster

Mako- I see that you own this particular model boat. What are your comments on it so far? I do intend to use this boat while my 31 footer is under going upgrades. The 6 cyl OMC is not starting, after sitting for 2 years. I was told to replace the distributor cap, rotor, points and coil. She won't kick over, I see spark, but wont go even with starting fluid. Any suggestions?

Petty Officer 2nd Class

Default Re: 2288 renken seamaster

The 4.3 litre is a good motor as far as I'm concerned. I'm no mechanic but that is certainly a good place to start. I would do the cap, wires, rotor, and plugs first and take it from there. Also try some adjusting on the timing. When I got the Renken it sat for a couple years also and thats what I did and I got it running. Ran lousy would backfire when revved up and it ended up being the valves, just did some adjusting on them and she is still running great. I also had to pull the risers and manifolds as they were clogeed and had a local radiator shop clean them out in there acid tank. Been using it for 2 summers now and the motors been fine. As far as the hull goes I hate it, the bow just loves to go under in some rough water, fine lake or bay boat but don't like her offshore at all. By the way mine is a 20 footer. Also you should post this as trouble with the OMC 6 cylinder, I'm sure you'll get some good input.

do a compression check. It's the next logical step.......good luck
    The Devil to pay, and no pitch hot!

Seaman Apprentice