Please note this thread has been inactive for 90 days. For the best results, please start a new thread.
    Cadet

Default 1965 33 Evinrude Ski Twin

I have a 33 Evinrude Ski Twin. I think it's a 1965. It has been in my familly for years, and is in very good condition. I'm pretty sure it's ready to run.
    I know a lot about 2 strokes and outboards in general. The problem is I can't find the ignition box for the motor. I am an electrician and have no problem building a new one, but what I can't figure out is how this motor charges the battery. There doesn't seem to be a 12V generator on this motor.
    The wiring harness has 2 black wires from the coils to kill the motor, a white wire that is for the saftey cut-out switch and a red wire for the power choke.
    The blue and yellow wires that on many other models would be the generator wires, have factory caps on them.
    Any one know how this motor charges the battery, or what important parts might be in the ignition box, that i might not know about?

Master Chief Petty Officer

Default Re: 1965 33 Evinrude Ski Twin

I am pretty sure that year of outboard requires a separate "generator". It doesn't have the charge coils built into the stator on this year. If it doesn't have the generator, I am sure you can find one on ebay, but expect to pay a good price for it, as they are expensive.

Commander