How to splice wires together?

russmo

Recruit
Aloha all,<br /><br />I recently acquired a little boat from my uncle who hasn't used it in several years. It has a 9.8hp model 110 Mercury outboard (s/n: 5122558, 1978?). The first thing I noticed when I pulled off the cover was that two wires had corroded completely away right where they entered the switch box. So I ordered CDI 114-6222 to replace the switch. I found that a previous post answered my questions about wiring the two brown wires that had corroded.<br /> http://forums.iboats.com/cgi-bin/ubb/ultimatebb.cgi?ubb=get_topic;f=29;t=020265#000000 <br /><br />So now all I have to do is connect the brown and white leads from the box to the brown trigger wires. I've never done any work on an outboard before, so I don't know what methods are acceptable considering heat and marine corrosion. <br /><br />Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Also, any helpful advice would be useful on other things that are important to check before I fire this thing up and see if it still works well (or light myself on fire). This is basically my means of learning more about how outboards work, and hopefully I'll get a working boat out of the deal.<br /><br />Mahalo,<br />Russ

rickdb1boat

Supreme Mariner
Re: How to splice wires together?

Solder them, followed by heat shrink to seal it up...

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner

Be sure and slide the shrink over the wire B4 soldering. Radio shack should have everything you need. Either the soldering iron held close to but not touching the shrink, or your wife's hair dryer will shrink the shrink. Hair dryer is much better if it's hot enough.<br /><br />Mark

russmo

Recruit

Okay, I'll go to radioshack and see if I can pick up a wife. I already have a hair dryer around the house.

Texasmark

Supreme Mariner

Wish you luck. Get one that cook.....fish. Grin<br /><br />Mark

rodbolt

Supreme Mariner