mercury sport jet

gator79

Petty Officer 2nd Class
i was just given a bayliner jazz jet boat . the motor is a mercury sport jet 90 hp. it was left outside and the engine compartment filled with rainwater. the motor is currently submerged but you can still turn the crank by hand. it is not locked up. what would be best for this motor besides trashing it? drain water then fill cylinders with oil? I have a force 85 hp outboard that runs, someone said they may be the same powerhead is this true? the boat is a 93 model and the outboard is are 86 ( I think ) model. I would like to fix it up for the kids if it is not to expensive. I am a auto tech so any engine work will not be a problem. thanks

WillyBWright

Fleet Admiral
Re: mercury sport jet