HARD STARTING 150 BLACK MAX XR4 V-6

CDRISSEN

Cadet
I HAVE A 18' 1988 BAKER WITH A 150 MERC BLACK MAX AND IM NEW TO OUTBOARDS, BUT WHAT THE HECK AM I DOING WRONG? THIS THING TAKES 3-5 MINUTES OF CRANKING BEFORE THE DANG THING STARTS. I PUSHED THE KEY IN FOR THE CHOKE FOR 5-10 SECONDS AND IM STILL HAVING A HARD TIME STARTING. ONCE IT STARTS AND WARMS UP, I DONT HAVE THE PROBLEM ANYMORE. SHOULD I PUMP THE TROTTLE A COUPLE OF TIMES BEFORE STARTING? OR SHOULD THE LEVER ON TOP OF THE THROTTLE BOX BE LIFTED UP? IT SAYS "LIFT FOR HIGHER IDLE" ON IT. AND IF I CRANK THE ENGINE FOR A LONG PERIOD OF TIME, THE THROTTLE BOX HAS A CONTINUOUS BEEPING. WHAT DOES THAT MEAN??<br />COULD USE SOME HELPFUL INFO. :confused:

Spidybot

Lieutenant Commander
Re: HARD STARTING 150 BLACK MAX XR4 V-6

Welcome here, Bad Bear!<br /><br />First of all you should hit your Caps Lock key.<br />Writing in capitals is considered SHOUTING!<br /><br />Next you should do a search in the Merc & Mariner forum for 'start cold 150' .<br /><br />Returns 64 hits and tells you all about it.

KCLOST

Commander

Pump the fuel line primer bulb until FIRM...(this is probably what you are not doing)<br />Set the throttle lever/arm at fast idle position (of couse in neutral).<br />Turn the key while at the same time pushing in the choke.. <br />When it fires release the choke, and immediately after advace the throttle to get it running....<br /><br />Don't let the starter run more than 10 seconds at a time, by the way. I don't want you to burn it up...<br /><br />Good luck... This should work, but check your manual. If you don't have one, get one..

JoeW

Senior Chief Petty Officer

Also, make sure the engine is trimed all the way down so that any fuel runs down into the carbs and not out of the carbs.

Josh Knapp

Cadet