actual meaning of "low compression"

swimmin' for shore

Chief Petty Officer
I'm not a mechanic. I'm getting better, though. I'm getting a conflicting understanding of the term "low compression". I understand how to check it, and very basically what causes it...What does it do to you, though? Does your motor run more weakly? Some say that it doesn't matter, as long as each cylinder is within 10% of the other. Is this true? I feel like 50 psi on cylinders that were set up for 125 or so is bad, but is it? Do I avoid all motors with low compression? What are the most common causes? If there's another place that I should be reading, please redirect me. Thanks.

Joe Reeves

Supreme Mariner
Re: actual meaning of "low compression"

Simply put.... The fuel air mixture must be compressed (compression)) in order to develop power when ignited.<br /><br />Gas in a deep pail, add a spark, you get a poof.<br /><br />Gas in a deep pail,compress with a sealed plunger, add a spark, it'll blow your head off!<br /><br />Best bet is to check with your local library for a book on the basics of the internal combustion engine.

JB

Honorary Moderator Emeritus

Compression readings vary so much from guage to guage and from variations in technique that it is nearly impossible to give you a number for "good" compression, SFS.<br /><br />We assume that when you do a comp. test you do all of the cylinders the same. That way we can tell you that if one reads more than 10% less than the other(s) it has "low" compression. As long as all read nearly the same we usually call the compression okay.<br /><br />An engine might give you 125psi with one guage and technique and 50psi with another guage and technique. It is still a good engine if the readings you actually get are within the 10% range.

swimmin' for shore

Chief Petty Officer

So, even though my 18 hp fastwin may have come from the factor with 125 psi on each cylinder, if they now read at 50 psi each, the engine will run about the same?